What are chakras?

The chakras are vortices of energy and according There are eight chakras. Each has different qualities, corresponding to different points on the body.

The lower chakras are primarily involved with the base elements of material  life such as survival, power, safety financial security and procreation. The higher chakras are more involved with the advanced elements of life such as compassion, intuition, intellect, selfless service and spirituality. When the energy moves freely among the chakras, it stimulates our mental, physical and spiritual health. When the energy is stuck, we lose our balance, our physical and mental energies are affected, our immunity gets impaired, we get sick, depressed, etc.

Energy is most likely to get stuck in the lower chakras because it’s easy to get bogged down in the daily struggle for survival and security. When we allow the lower chakras to control us, we end up believing that life is finite, that survival is a constant struggle and we are alone. The tendency is to focus on the loss of the past, the fear of the future and the drudgery of making a living.

The first chakra is the root chakra and is responsible for everything that manifests in the physical world. It is with our fear and survival instincts. Root means support or foundation. To feel safe and secure, to control. It is located at the base of the spine, in the area of the rectum. It is associated with the sense of smell; the element of earth and the color is red. In Sanskrit it is called Muladara.

If the first charka is all about ‘me’ – my needs, my security – the second chakra is all about ‘my relationship with the other’. It deals with sensuality and has to do with the emotional self. This is where the relationship with the other is developed – empathy, caring, communication, connection, feeling accepted, feeling recognized. The most fundamental characteristic is its power to create and procreate, to give and receive. It is associated with the sense of taste, the element of water and the color orange. In Sanskrit it is called Svadisthana.

The third chakra, the Navel Chakra or Manipura in sanskrit, has to do with Power, where we draw our power and strength, our will power. It is located in the area of the navel point, 2-3 inches below the umbilicus – where all the nerve endings meet. It is associated with the sense of sight, the element of fire and the color yellow. It is associated with the capacity to set a goal and see it through, with empowerment, the element is fire and the color yellow.

Yogi Bhajan recommend to stimulate the Navel Point once a day by doing Breath of Fire. He said “it will cleanse your lungs, make them strong, you will have deep breathing all day, you will have good oxygen in your bloodstream, and you will be young and healthy for a long time. If you do it 5-15 minutes every day, it is the best way to keep the blood purified. It’s a direct blood purification system.”

The fourth chakra, the Heart Chakra represents the opening of feelings, compassion, patience, gratitude, generosity and the capacity to love. This is the bridge between the lower and upper chakras. Through this chakra love is our motivation and our relationship with others, nature and ourselves are harmonious. This is associated with the sense of touch; the element of air and the color is green. In Sanskrit, this is called Anahata.

The Fifth chakra, the Throat chakra, represents our ability to speak up, to communicate truthfully and be able to really listen and tune into what is being presented to us at every given moment. In sanskrit it is called Vishudda. Physically, this chakra is located behind the throat. It is associated with the sense of hearing, the element of ether, the color blue.

The Sixth chakra is the chakra of understanding, understanding one’s purpose. It is located at the brow point, in the area of the pituitary gland. t is associated with wisdom, insight, intuition and the sixth sense. It is called Ajna in sanskrit and the color is indigo.

The Seventh chakra, the Crown Chakra is located at the crown chakra and associated with the pineal gland. This deals with transcendence and is often times called the Seat of the Soul. It is associated with our capacity of vastness, universality, humility and the oneness of spirit with the Infinite and all creation. In sanskrit this is called Sahasrara and the color is violet.

The lower six chakras are yours to function on earth, but the Sahasrara Chakra is the connection to the source. It is our link to the universal & infinite consciousness, or God. God never separated from us. With our connection to The Source come our belief systems, belief in a higher power, self-knowledge, transcendence and universal understanding. 

The Eight chakra is the aura, which is the body’s electromagnetic field. It extends out from our physical body in all directions, including up and down, forming a protective field. It is associated with the qualities of radiance and magnetism. The openness, strength and balance of all the other chakras will show up in the aura. The color is white.

If you want to learn more about the chakras, join Understanding the Chakras workshop on March 9, 2019 at 10 AM at Rebel Yoga Manila.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s